I love Vogue, but these models need to get a grip.

I realize that it’s Christmas Day and that I really shouldn’t be putting up a blog post, but I blame it on the fact that I’ve been absorbed in fashion and home decor magazines all day.  Things had been going fine in my endeavours of absolute mindless reading and list-making for my upcoming shopping trips, that was until I came across one of the cover articles on my most recent copy of Vogue:  “When size 4 is too big – A curvy model’s struggle to fit in.”  ARE YOU KIDDING ME.

As a girl who is most certainly the opposite of a sample size (and nowhere near a size 4) these models need to get a grip.  Complaining about being curvy, turning to alcohol, and claiming that she’s “fat” (apparently three letter words are the new four letter words in the fashion industry) is absolutely appalling.  Is the article shocking?  Not particularly, I’m more than well aware the these girls have a warped version of reality when it comes to their size.  What I did find kind of shocking was the way in which Vogue put the article on the cover, named the article something almost completely different in the table of contents (I had to look through the magazine a couple of times to find it) and then kind of left the whole thing supremely open-ended at the finale of the whole thing.

The world needs to wake up and re-define their version of “curvy”.  I know the industry isn’t going to change dramatically, and I have no expectation that it will (I kind of like it the way it is…).  What makes me upset is the fact that it was necessary to put such a bizarre spin on this kind of an article.  Either take a stance at the end of the article, call the girl crazy, or get over yourselves.  Normally I wouldn’t have a seriously problem with it, but as a girl who has friends who have issues with their weight, and friends who were perfectly comfortable size 10/8/6s, and now feel it necessary to drop down to the 2/4s reading articles like this DRIVES ME NUTS!  I’d like to point out it’s the latter (the feeling that the world won’t accept them at their “high” single digit or low double digit sizes) that really bothers me.  Learn how to be comfortable with yourself.  Fashion magazines really don’t need to perpetuate the stupid open-ended stereotypes.  Weight Watchers isn’t designed for people who already perfectly acceptable sizes by regular society.  Do I need to go back to the cliched comment that Marilyn Monroe was a size 16?  Doing it for boys or that necessary attention from your desired sex?  Clearly you have greater issues at stake.

I’ll confess to the fact that part of this blog is on a self-improvement kick, the pursuit of fabulous, and an attempt to define chic in my own terms.  That does not mean that I have to fall into the world’s stereotypes of perfection.  That does not mean that I’m trying to look like the cover stars of the various magazines.  That does not mean that I’m trying to emulate the thin.  If that’s a byproduct…so be it – but it CERTAINLY IS NOT a goal.  My goal is to be happier through re-defining bits of my reality.

I suppose writing this in the heat of passion after reading the damn thing is sufficiently in appropriate and unladylike, but I felt it necessary to spit the whole damn thing out ASAP.

Merry Christmas.  I’m going to stuff myself at dinner just to make up for negatively sized models and those size-4 “chubsters”.

Leave a comment

Filed under M3 - Month Magazine Musings., Rant

Leave a Reply

