Deciding on the bag: Chloe vs. Mulberry.

I have a predicament.  I’m going to purchase another “investment bag”.  This is what I lovingly refer to my Tod’s D Bag as.  Yes, I realize that designer bags are pricey, but for a girl who has traditionally indulged in Kate Spade, Cole Haan, and the higher ends of Coach (think the single edition first and only run bags…), spending four figures on a bag sometimes feels a little indulgent.  Realistically, it is indulgent.

So I’m making the plunge, changing my habits, waiting periods of time in between bag purchases and getting statement “investment” or signature bags that I really and truly love.  I’ve come to the conclusion that this is a good strategy, primarily because when I was packing to come home I had to narrow down my “immediate access” handbag selection to 3…and decided that really I only needed one bag (the Tod’s bag…considering how gorgeous it is and how it goes with everything).

Anyhow, it’s decision time.  I’m heading down to San Francisco in about 2 weeks and have narrowed down my targets to two.  Assistance would be helpful…so if you have any commentary on which I should pick, make sure you let me know!

Handbag Dilemma

Choice A – Mulberry Alexa Bag {location, centre right}

I’ll start with the glitch on the acquisition of this bag – currently I can only find it on Net-a-Porter.  This is a perfectly fine predicament, but mildly frustrating as I wanted to be able to get the bag while I was down in California.  Other than that, I see no flaws.  It’s a shape that is quite different from any other bag in my collection, and would also be the first Mulberry bag that I would every acquire.  I think I’d go with the bag in black, as it’s a great classic, and somehow my bag wardrobe is really lacking in classic black bags.  Well that last statement is a bit of a half truth, I have two fantastic black Kate Spade bags…but neither of them are like this.  There’s a bit of a funky edgy tone in this bag that’s just enough for me to pull off with my otherwise preppy style.  Subconsciously, I think I want this bag in large part because it is by Mulberry.  My first missed love was a Mulberry Bayswater (99% sure it was a Bayswater…) bag when I was 16 and was in the Mulberry boutique in Harrods…it was a deep eggplant purple, it was divine.  I vividly remember grabbing my dad’s arm and just dying right there in the store.  My dad will say that he lost circulation in his arm at that moment, and still gets tingles in his fingertips from it because he’s fairly sure I damaged nerve endings.

Choice B – Chloe Marcie Bag {location, centre left}

Again, pretty dramatically different from any bag I own.  And again, this would be the first bit of Chloe in my collection.  I first fell in love with this bag courtesy of PurseBlog (quite possibly my favourite blog on purses that I’ve ever come across, total classic…http://www.purseblog.com/), and keep going back to the site to check it out.  It’s a different shape, top handle, interesting detailing, great variety of very understated girly neutrals.  It’s quite a feminine bag, which I certainly love.  The downside to this is that I’m not sure that I’m in love with carrying options.  The slight practicality problem with carrying it in the crook of my arm provides a mild turnoff, and I wonder its limited functionality (therefore) would decrease my opportunities to wear it.  I suppose the happy medium would be to chose the Marcie concept in one of the other design styles, but there’s something about the original that I absolutely love more than anything else…granted the Marcie Hobo Cross-Body is quite appealing…

Ideas, comments…I want to hear them.  I’ve also listed a few other considerations below, and they are of course in the Polyvore collage.

Honourable Considerations: {from top left to bottom right}

  • Chloe Marcie Cross-Body Hobo
  • Chloe Darla Shoulder Bag
  • Bottega Veneta Cervo Hobo
  • Chloe Abby Framed Shoulder
  • Tod’s G-Bag Easy Messenger
  • YSL Large Muse Bag
  • Tod’s Shade Medio
  • Jimmy Choo Largue Tulita Shoulder
  • Chloe Heloise Hobo
  • Maison Martin Margiela Medium Flap
4 Comments

Filed under Handbags

4 responses to “Deciding on the bag: Chloe vs. Mulberry.

  1. Jen

    Favourites: The Chloe Darla Shoulder Bag (great shape, beautiful but different orange colour), YSL Large Muse Bag (for the same reasons), and the Chloe Heloise Hobo (beautiful shape, love love love the browns). Your two favourites look a little briefcase-y to me, and some of the other handle lengths look a little awkward. Good luck choosing and have fun spending!

  2. Shelly

    Good luck choosing. I just faced this choice – went between Longchamp Legende, Mulberry Bayswater/Alexa, and Chloe Marci. I chose the Marcie and love it. And I love how I look around and casually spot other Chloe bags – they are not as ubiquitous in London as Mulberry bags and feel a bit more extraordinary for it.

  3. Chloe every time for me Mulberry is loved by the stay safe brigade who want a statement bag but don’t know any other designers other than mulberry and my pet hate Radley. Chloe will remain classic timeless and special for me as on a visit to London my gorgeous husband bought me my first Chloe and I’ve been hooked ever since.

    • I ended up choosing neither of these two bags…at first. I found a YSL Muse in British Racing Green that has quite possibly become my favourite handbag in my collection.

      Though I did cave and pick up a Mulberry Alexa while I was travelling Europe last year. It’s a safe casual bag that fits quite well with my style.

      Chloe’s on my list for a future investment bag, but the style and stitching of the Marcie just didn’t end up being a winner for me.

Leave a Reply

