A Tiffany miss?

Ugh…no…this was a bad idea.  The Tiffany leather collection was released a short time ago, and I have to say that I cannot {unfortunately} count myself as a major fan.  I think that some of their SLGs {small leather goods} are alright, but as a whole I just don’t like the direction–or lack thereof.

{East Side Tote, Image from Tiffany.com}

Although there are some of the pieces that I can appreciate on some vague level {see East Side Tote to the left}, the collection as a whole seems incredibly disjointed.  My general opinion is that it felt as though there were a few dozen styles of handbags that they wanted to be associated with the brand, and they somehow felt compelled to spit them out all at once.  As opposed to slowly testing the waters and teasing the consumer with perhaps a half a dozen items, we’ve got something more akin to a full year’s worth of handbag collections all in one go.  Granted considering how reminiscent some of the bags are of previous Lambertson Truex designs, it’s not surprising we got such a large helping.  I wonder, in fact, if the thought, design, and materials were in fact rushed through or overlooked when the bags were finally put to market.

{Reversible Tote in Tiffany Blue/Platinum, Image from Tiffany.com}

Harsh?  I don’t particularly think so.  And I’m also calling straight to free speech.  I’ve heard some absolute horror stories about the materials used, particularly with the Reversible Totes, and the Hobo bag in the Cognac.  One thing I will give them is that the amount of Tiffany blue used on the outers of the bags isn’t obscene…yet.  There is of course the matter of the fact that they designed a Reversible Tote…that I will continue to harp on because I’m sorry, I just don’t understand.  A thin, edge unfinished piece of leather crafted into a recently common shape {the bucket-style bag} that not only provides the user with one bag, but another that equates to a rather large piece of Tiffany blue leather?  Please, explain this to me if you can manage to comprehend this.  Who is actually going to reverse this bag?  Or at least this bag in that colour combination.

{Manhattan Satchel, Image from Tiffany.com}

Shapes.  That’s probably my other pet peeve.  A good number of their larger sized bags I’ve seen before from other designers…and for some reason I like the originals better {shocking I know}.  As opposed to being clever renditions of common shapes, they’re just not measuring up.  Please, kill me with the quilting, it’s awful…or perhaps the black and white giraffe print?  And dare I say it, one of the feature larger scale bags {the Manhattan} is silently screaming Mulberry Bayswater to me.  My criticisms may be taken with a grain of salt though, to each their own.  Clutches and wallets aside that is.

{Tiffany Blue Holly Clutch, Image from Tiffany.com}

Perhaps it’s due to the fact that this seems like a logical extension of the brand {think the kind of thing that would perfectly complement the jewelry on an evening out}, but I appreciate the clutches.  Miniaturized frame bags that would look excellent with an LBD, and wallets in the exact Tiffany blue that would look exquisite being pulled out of another handbag.  Clearly some thought and time was put into designing these and understanding that often times Tiffany is an indulgence for the consumer.  Some of these pieces seem to manage to retain the glamour and something special that their core contains.  These SLGs are quite possibly something I can see myself indulging in in the future.

Now, I refuse to dismiss the potential of this partnership before it’s had a chance to prove itself.  Lambertson Truex should be given their opportunity to make magic with Tiffany like their predecessors {see Frank Gehry, Paloma Picasso, and Elsa Peretti}.  Might I give the line a chance?  Perhaps once it get’s over it’s fresh out of the womb phase.  But by then the leather goods may have become as common as the Heart Tag bracelets.

Leave a comment

Filed under Defining Chic, Handbags, Rant

Leave a Reply

