High-heeled? How about not.

{DVF Jameson Bootie, Image from Nordstrom.com}

Some shoes were just never meant to be high-heeled, or wedged, or elevated at all for that matter.  The heeled work boot / hiking boot trend that started with the stiletto Timberland a number of years ago, has decided to rear its ugly head again this fall season.

This is awful.  My faith in fashion was just diminished, ever microscopically so.

{Steve Madden Clovurr Ankle Boots, Image from Nordstrom.com

Now I will give it the benefit of the doubt that this is in fact a trend considering it’s not only a single brand jumping on the bandwagon, but a few.  I just don’t grasp where on earth people are getting the idea that these are a good idea.  Perhaps  it’s one of those “only incredibly stylish people can pull these off” or maybe it’s a flirty dress with a leather or denim jacket kind of thing.  Yet the world could do with a few less people rocking this style improperly {as with most trends granted}.

What positively slays me even further though and colossally more, and something that I found alarming enough to cause inspiration to kick in my own two cents on the issue was these high-heeled boat shoes from Joe Jeans featured on September 8th on Talk Shoes.

{Joe Jeans Upbeat Boat Wedges, Image from TalkShoes.com}

NO…NO, NO, NO, NO…NO!

The mildly wedged “girly” ones that were on Sperry were verging on being wrong enough {see here and here}…but this?  This is obscene!  We’re talking about dock shoes, boat shoes, topsiders…whatever you’d like to call them for that matter…shoes that are designed for kicking around in over the summer and more often than not sported by prepsters coast to coast.  These are supposed to acquire their distressed look from obsessive wear and tear and water stains.  These are supposed to end up slightly sloppy and yet utterly broken in and gorgeous in all their worn glory at the end of a summer season.  Things they are not supposed to be?  Pre-distressed, fitted, and HEELED!  I feel these have single-handedly killed summer and reminded me that the season is over and fall is here.

Ugh…thank god for some of the gorgeous fall pieces floating around or general trends of moss green and lady-like designs.  Otherwise I would be required to permanently throw up my hands in utter peril.

1 Comment

Filed under Rant, Shoes

One response to “High-heeled? How about not.

  1. Hello I am so grateful I found your website, I really found you by mistake,
    while I was looking on Digg for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say
    many thanks for a fantastic post and a all round
    thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I
    will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the superb work.

Leave a Reply

