Midweek Indulgence: The Red Lip.

Lipstick is something I’ve certainly taken my time ranting and raving about on this blog before, and…shockingly… it’s something I’m going to dedicate a post to again.  This time though it’s in favour of a little midweek indulgence: for the commentary on the acquisition of the red lip.

Now I’d like to put a quick disclaimer on the following commentary – everyone needs to find their own red.  Believe me, you will most likely go through about a dozen red lipstick tubes before you find the right one.  Then, further to that, you will probably end up with a few variations: glossy, creamy, matte, cool-toned, warm-toned.  Being a fan of a bold coloured lip, I’ve my fair share of red lip products and I thought I’d take a quick opportunity to share my favourite reds {…fyi…that’s red lip products…not red wines…that’s a totally different midweek indulgence}.

Item #1 – Red Gloss

{Benefit Benetint Balm, from Sephora.com}

This is a definite toss-up between two products: Misbehave Lipgloss from NARS, and Benetint Balm from Benefit.  The latter is significantly harder to find than the former, but is truly a treat if you can find it.  NARS’ Misbehave reminds me of LoveAlert Dazzleglass from MAC, but without the chunky glitter {which I cannot stand}.  It’s a fairly sheer shimmery red, one that I’d recommend pairing with a favourite red lipstick.  Benetint Balm on the other hand, is the glossy lip balm form of the cult favourite lipstain Benetint.  I’ve repurchased this product a number of times, and it’s a daily wear kind of red colour – stuble enough, but with a quiet smirk and a grin.  I’d like to point out that Laura Mercier Gloss in Rose is a massively close runner up for this category.  For some reason it’s just too much of a pink red for me to truly qualify it as a “red” gloss.

Item #2 – Red Stain {and also doubling as my Matte Red}

{Scarlet Lip Stain, from LauraMercier.com}

Without question…Laura Mercier’s Lipstain in Scarlett.  A creamy matte lipstain {ie. not in liquid form for application}, this applies like a dream and delivers a kind of colour that sits somewhere in that undefinable category of not quite being a blue base, and yet not quite a yellow/warm base.  Whether applied with an imprecise hand for a thrown together un-fussy matte red lip, or put on with polish as the base coat for any red-base or red lipstick: this is a product that I will forever swear by.

Item #3 – Cool-Toned Red

{Rose Lip Glace, from LauraMercier.com}

Inevitably it’s a Limited Edition MAC colour from 2008: “Red”, She Said.  Considering my colouring, I’ve never been drawn to the likes of MAC Red or Russian Red {both very close colours to this offering}…but when I went into MAC that one fateful day, this was inevitably the colour I picked up.  I’ve nicknamed it my “cartoon red” – as when one has it on, it seems to possess that very precise doll-like quality that you’d associate with cartoon characters.  Possibly because it causes my face to look every so slightly drained so it emphasizes my lip colour?  Yes.  But I will still reach for this along with my Laura Mercier Glace in Rose for a gorgeous springtime sassy cool pink red lip.

Item #4 – Warm-Toned Red {…and quite possibly just the ultimate winner for my lips}

{Long Wear Lip Colour in Lover, from StilaCosmetics.com}

For every other season, and just in general {cue the drumroll please}…Stila Longwear in Lover.  Warm, opaque, creamy, easy to apply – there really isn’t a direct competitor.  This is the lipstick that won out over the rest in my testing to really be the perfect red lip for my skintone.  There’s something bold about this, but more in the way that it makes me feel emboldened rather than garish.  It’s just as easily worn with a light neutral eye for a daytime pop of colour in a monochromatic outfit…or dressed up with that perfect LBD for a cocktail party or evening out.  It wears like a dream, and even if it just needs to be blotted mid-afternoon, there’s still enough pigment that it’s given your lips that barely there red stain that will wear well for the rest of the day.

That’s my two cents on this midweek indulgence and perhaps something to make your Wednesday a little less dreary.  Enjoy!

{Oh…and let me know your favourite red lip selections in the comments!}

Leave a comment

Filed under Makeup & Beauty, Midweek Indulgence, Pursuit of Fabulous

Leave a Reply

