Top Five Friday: Kiehl’s Products.

I am a self-proclaimed Kiehls addict.  If you’ve ever been privy to my vanity counter then this is something you would know {aside from the fact that I’m a product junkie}.  As such, I’ve tried a sincerely significant number of products from the line…some good…some not-so-good…most fantastic.  Everything from Tinted Moisturizer to Eye Cream, with a few Tinted Lip Balms and Overnight Repairing Face treatments in between…I’m starting to get to the point where I’ve tried it all, within reason.  While I would love to be able to sit here and recommend a whole slough of Kiehl’s for the lot of you to go out and try, that’s just not feasible.  So instead, you’re getting a Top Five Friday…Kiehl’s style.

A few honourable mentions before we start: Cryste Marine Firming Eye Treatment, Sodium PCA Oil-Free Moisturizer, Tinted Lip Balm SPF 15 Hue 58B, Over-Night Biological Peel, Superbly Smooth Argan Oil Shampoo & Conditioner.

{Ultimate Strength Hand Salve, photo from Kiehls.com}

#5 Ultimate Strength Hand Salve : Ah yes, the product that started it all.  The quest for a non-greasy, quick absorbing, non-perfumed hand cream that actually did the trick to quench my father’s psoriasis on his hands.  A stop at the Kiehl’s counter at my local Holts for a tube of their original Lip Balm {which had been listed as a favourite product in a magazine}, and a snap decision to give this a try…sold, to the quickly developing addict with the HR bag.  The formulation is deep and rich without leaving a slick of product on your hand after the fact and boasts Avocado, Eucalyptus, Sesame Seed, and Olive Oil wax.  The scent is of hand cream with a hint of Eucalyptus which dissipates nearly instantly, but without being overwhelming at application either.  I’ve tried a number of products since…yet none quite measure up to this small white 75mL tube with the blue writing that has become a constant fixture in my handbag ever since.

{Rice and Wheat Volumizing Shampoo, photo from Kiehls.com}

#4 Rice & Wheat Shampoo and Formula 133 Hair Conditioner and Grooming Aid : Everyone can find their own perfect shampoo and conditioner combination at Kiehl’s, but this is mine.  The chance result of a few mismatched deluxe samples landed me with a light volumising shampoo, and a lovely rich conditioner and grooming aide.  The Rice & Wheat Shampoo is described as the solution to “flat, thin, and lifeless hair”, and contains lightweight proteins and poly-sugars to accomplish combatting this.  Now while I have thick textured hair {and quite a fair amount of it}, I find that this provides a fantastically clean feeling to my hair without adding anything to weigh down the natural texture at the roots.  Formula 133?  My standard issue conditioner that provides a sufficient amount of moisture to my hair without weighing it down, and can often double as a grooming aide post shower when I’m out of the product listed at #1 on this list.  “Detangles and moisturizes, leaving hair soft and manageable, but not greasy.”…yes please!  I would like to point out that on alternating months I like to try out new hair cleansing products and conditioners…but I always feel as though I’m depriving my hair of its true essence…Rice & Wheat with a Formula 133 chaser.

{Gentle Exfoliating Body Scrub, shown in Coriander, photo from Kiehls.com}

#3 Gentle Exfoliating Body Scrub in Lavender : My skin everywhere but on my face is generally fairly dry.  As such, I’m a bit of a sucker for a good body scrub.  Re-phrase: I’m a bit of a sucker for the Kiehl’s body scrubs.  While I’ve been through the odd bottle of the Grapefruit variety in the summer months, I will always return to the Lavender.  I light spicy lavender scent that lingers through the shower, but dissipates on the skin post shower, I enjoy the relaxation yet invigorating nature of the scent.  Something about the contrast between soothing lavender and an awakening scrub seems bizarrely natural in this product…and soothing invigoration is an oxymoron I’m more than willing to get used to.

{Ultra Facial Cream, photo from Kiehls.com}

#2 Ultra Facial Cream : My face is a completely different exceptionally well behaved creature when I use this on a consistent basis.  An application of this on freshly cleansed skin before bed radically changes my combination hyper-dry and yet oily skin into a relatively even canvas that is evenly moisturized manageable.  Excess oil production due to otherwise dry conditions…gone.  Dry patches that feel so moisture deprived that they rival the Sahara in summer…gone.  I legitimately notice a difference when I switch products, or neglect to use this for an extended period of time.  I therefore avoid doing the aforementioned.

{Heat-Protective Silk-Straightening Cream, photo from Kiehls.com}

#1 Heat Protective Silk Straightening Creme : I am currently on what could possibly be pushing my twelfth tube of this.  I started using it my junior year of high school and just never looked back.  This lightweight cream formula is derived from Soy Beans, Sesame Seeds, and Sunflower Seeds and is listed as being “Formulated especially for wavy, frizzy, or curly hair in need of smoothing”.  Those words…wavy, frizzy, curly…those are my hair words.  I apply this to my hair after each washing whether I’m styling my hair naturally, curly, straight, somewhere in between…whatever the case may be.

So those are my Top 5 for this Friday.  Hopefully you find some new favourites of your own…or perhaps I’ve made a convert out of some of you in the process.  For all of you Kiehl’s addicts out there, what are you favourites?

All products are available from Kiehls.com, Kiehl’s boutiques, and of course for those Canadian folks…Holts.  Links to the various products can be found by clicking on their associated pictures throughout this post.

1 Comment

Filed under Makeup & Beauty, Top Five Friday

One response to “Top Five Friday: Kiehl’s Products.

  1. Heading to a kiehl s store tomorrow so thank you for this.

Leave a Reply

